Are Humans Hardwired for Story or Do We Just Like Gossip?

A different way to look at the human need for stories

Jason McBride
3 min readMar 31, 2024

--

All illustrations by Jason McBride

I recently had an epiphany about TikTok and the power of story. I’ve been on the controversial app for several years. It all started with a desire to be a part of the platform my teens were then obsessed with. But now, I love scrolling on that app.

There are so many interesting academics, intellectuals, artists, musicians, and creatives sharing their knowledge and insights about their fields of expertise and their daily lives.

I was watching a video from someone I do not know talk about layoffs at a company I have never heard of and I paused to ask myself why I was so interested in this video. That’s when it clicked. TikTok is addictive and successful because it uses its slot-machine algorithm to weaponize gossip.

Ever since I first read the work of Joseph Campbell as a teenager, I have held the core belief that humans are hardwired for story.

This belief influenced how I tried cases as a lawyer, approached copywriting as a freelancer, and how I viewed myself as an artist. I was a storyteller.

But, after reading more about Robin Dunbar’s theories over the past three years, I’ve altered my views a bit. Dunbar and many other…

--

--

Jason McBride

Freelance Writer & Illustrator | Poet & Visual Essayist | Amateur Human | he/him https://weirdopoetry.com