How Useless Knowledge Allows Me to Connect to Strangers as a Lifelong Introvert

The beauty of useless knowledge, or how I became a birdman

Jason McBride
5 min readMar 28, 2024

--

All illustrations by Jason McBride

I’ve always been a curious person, and for whatever reason my brain has always been sticky. When I was a teen, my friends and many adults would tease me about all my useless knowledge as I demolished them at trivia games.

I was especially good with pop culture and history.

I never bought into the idea of “useless” knowledge. Every fact I learned could connect to other facts and unlock more of the world for me. When I was younger, knowledge for knowledge’s sake felt like a worthy endeavor.

But now, at almost 48 years old, I see knowledge differently.

This past week, my favorite downtown pond was full of stunning birds. There was a majestic great blue heron and a wild variety of ducks.

I whipped out my phone and took a slew of reference photos for later comics. In the middle of one of my circuits around the pond, I was stopped in mid-haiku composition by a woman with a question. I had seen her and her friend across the pond admiring the heron.

--

--

Jason McBride

Freelance Writer & Illustrator | Poet & Visual Essayist | Amateur Human | he/him https://weirdopoetry.com